Go Back

TESS back at SCMC

After a hiatus of three years, the Batch of 2019 brought TESS (The East Side Story) back to life on 23 and 24 January. TESS is SCMC’s two-day film festival. From film-making to script writing, students geared up to showcase their cinematic skills and compete with each other.

The event was inaugurated with the much anticipated ‘Cinema Day’, giving students and faculty the opportunity to cosplay their favorite movie characters. Several iconic cinema characters were brought to life by the students of SCMC.

At noon, the topics for the ‘24-hour Filmmaking Competition’ were released where the students had to put together a film in just a day! This was followed by the ‘Cinema Day Treasure Hunt’, where selected teams competed to find hidden treasure.

Day One of TESS came to a fitting end with the screening of a cult classic that changed the path of cinema: Pulp Fiction by Quentin Tarantino. Students braved the evening chill, huddled together in blankets and snacks to munch to watch the film.

Day Two of TESS began with the lighting of the lamp in the campus auditorium by the chief guest for the event, Mr. Prashant Pathrabe, Director General, Films Division of India. The other guests were Mr. Rohit Adlakha, Product Evangelist at Fujifilm India Private Limited, and Mr. Pravin Mudholkar, Bureau Chief, IBN Lokmat, Network 18. The guests spoke about developments in the audio-visual industry.

The afternoon session, Kahaani - screening of short films in the fictional category, showcased some of the best works that SCMC students and others created.

The event concluded with the award ceremony. Best costume award for Cinema Day was bagged by Liora Bhite (Batch 2021), Parth Rahatekar (Batch 2020) and Saylee Gatne (Batch 2019). The first and second winners for Kahaani were May by Harold Antony Paulson and Listen to the Storm by Arnav Pingale.

Winners of the 24-hour filmmaking competition were Devansh and team for Kaam 24, and the runners-up were Akshat and team for Wacko. Team Han Solo won the first position for Treasure Hunt.

TESS concluded with the organizers and core committee members speaking about their experience

Roop Sawhney and Yamini Kinjra (Batch 2020)

Snigdha Jain (Batch 2019)

Download SET Score